A 2016 Benediction

Reading Numbers 6:22-27

I have been using the Daily Bible Reading Guide from the Canadian Bible Society for 2016. It is a good discipline to direct my morning readings.  

It has been my practice to lay a benediction on the folks at the end of our worship services.  Along the way I acquired and adapted a lead in for my favourite benediction given to Moses by the LORD.  I’ll say something like this:  “We have come to this, the most holy moment of our worship service. That time when God’s people, strengthened in worship, Word, prayer, fellowship and communion, go out the doors into the world. Brothers and sisters, we don’t go to church, we are the church, the hands and feet of Christ in this world…


The LORD bless you
and keep you;
the LORD make his face shine upon you
and be gracious to you;
the LORD turn his face toward you
and give you peace.

So on this last day of 2016 two of my practices merge, providing a benediction on one year, and a call for the new year. 2016 was a great year that held many challenges.  A short ponder of the year fills my heart with gratitude at the God who has kept me, shone his face upon me and given me peace. I sense in my spirit that 2017 is going to be a year of transformation.  One that will require a good deal of faithful living -which means more than living rightly, which is essential- it means leaning into the wind of God’s gracious love, it means keeping my mind on Christ, my heart in Christ, my soul with Christ.  Basking in the peace of God involves turning my gaze toward the face of God.  God who lovingly turns his gaze toward us, looking to bring grace, peace and security.

Your face will I seek oh LORD.

A Happy New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

